Pondering on Pediatrics

18 June, 2013 § 2 Comments

I remember being in nursing school and thinking to myself that I did not want to go into Peds because it was not “my thing”.  I also remember being in nursing school and thinking to myself that I would never work in geriatrics either.  Here I am a year later and I am working in geriatrics and have been considering the possibilities of going into pediatrics.  Nursing, and life, is funny like that sometimes.

I do not particularly like to see people suffer, and when it is children it is that much harder for me to endure, but their spirit is unbreakable and Padiatric patients are often some of the most amazing human beings you will ever meet.  I am amazed at their courage and their ability to smile in the face of darkness and odds that are typically not on their side.  Having a toddler of my own has changed my worldview and has expanded the way that I see Pediatrics.  When my little bugger was born it was feared that he had aspirated meconium

“The inhaled meconium can partially or completely block the baby’s airways. Although air can flow past the meconium trapped in the baby’s airways as the baby breathes in, the meconium becomes trapped in the airways when the baby breathes out. And so, the inhaled meconium irritates the baby’s airways and makes it difficult to breathe.

MAS can affect the baby’s breathing in a number of ways, including chemical irritation to the lung tissue, airway obstruction by a meconium plug, infection, and the inactivation of surfactant by the meconium (surfactant is a natural substance that helps the lungs expand properly).”

The NICU team was called and they worked quickly through some tense moments but our little one was fine after they skillfully inserted the tiniest suction catheter I have ever seen.  Later, he developed severe jaundice, causing him to be hospitalized again, and this time it was a great team of Pediatric nurses that cared for him while he was on their unit. Although just a few of the people involved in his care were told directly how much they meant to my wife and I, all of them played a role in the life of my family that I am forever grateful.

That sort of is what Pediatrics is about, doing amazing things with amazing people and leaving an impact on the lives that you touch.  Loving and caring for children and, in turn, loving and caring for the families of those children.

Maybe I should not write Pediatrics off as “not my thing”.

Anthony, RN

Sources:

H/T to Nursetopia for posting the video

Seattle Children’s Hospital

The Nemours Foundation

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Pondering on Pediatrics

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pondering on Pediatrics at Straight Cath No Chaser.

meta

